Sit With Me

Come, my child,
Sit for a spell.
Because life is wild,
Listen to this story well.

A story that is full of pain,
You’ve had your share, no doubt.
It has parts where love will reign
But along an unfortunate route.

Two shall meet, eyes full of hurt,
Trouble brewing worse than ants,
A treasure’s authenticity slinging dirt.
But trust will tilt the balance.

Listen close, I can feel you go,
The story is not all heart break.
There is adventure and a foe
And trouble for gossip to make.

Come back, it is not just talk.
I promise a strong tale of lore.
Please lean closer, stop your walk,
My talk will not be a bore.


via Wordle 265 — The Sunday Whirl

This week’s wordle is dedicated to everyone who visits people in nursing homes. Whether it be for religion, sharing information, or just to listen. Your deed has not been ignored. Visit Create the Good to learn more about volunteering with seniors.

2 comments on “Sit With Me

    • I have been considering different services to give of myself recently and when I saw the word prompts, nursing home visitation jumped to mind. I have never been to a nursing home before and was wondering how to start when I found the fascinating article on the Create the Good website I mentioned.

      In the words of one of my current favorite songs, ‘Everyone has a story to tell.’

Leave a comment