Transformations

I’ve come to love the silence.

As a victim of violence I never thought I would.

My last thoughts as a human child was running from my father. I had forgotten to finish raking the yard and he had come home early from the bar. I had no idea what he was going to do. All I knew was that I had to run.

Run…

I can’t run anymore, but run is what I did that day. I ran to save my life. I heard his yells… his screams… I was terrified and ran. I ran through the woods, praying for something. I didn’t even know what I was just praying for something… an out. A hiding place. A savior. Anything at all.

I could hear my father growing closer and fear grabbed me in its iron grip. I couldn’t see anything. I just ran.

Terror struck me just as the tree did. I had run full speed into a tree. I could feel the lower branches gripping me, hiding me. I prayed… begged off all that was holy that I was truly hidden as I had the crashes of my father running through the woods.

I can save you. But there’s a price.

There’s always a price, I told the voice in my head. I sobbed silently as I thought about my childhood so far. What other price could I pay?

Stay and be calm. I have you, little seedling.

I felt more branches push closer around me. The crashing of my father came closer and I could hardly breath in my fear.

They went past.

I could scarcely believe my fortune. I couldn’t think of what I would have to pay for this. I could never go home again. I refused to think of him again.

You are my seedling now.

My eyes grew wide as the import of my situation became clear. I could feel myself growing smaller, until myself was nearly not. I could feel my hardened body picked up and carried away. I didn’t know then where I would end up, but I knew that I would no longer be hurt or threatened by my father again.

I have come to love that silence.

Short fiction based on a planned novella story.

One comment on “Transformations

  1. Hi Julia,
    We haven’t spoken since Christmas ’12. How are you doing? My life has been its usual crazy self.

    I had my shoulder partially replaced in July. They had to finish up in a hurry because my heart started misbehaving part way through. I have an artificial ball in my original socket.

    My mother in law had a stroke a while back, and now she forgets that she can’t walk. While I was recovering from the surgery and not allowed to drive, she broke both bones in her leg just above the ankle trying to get out of bed. My poor husband had to schlep us both to doctor appointments.

    My parents, 86 & 88, have lived in their house since 1959. I’ve been going down there trying to help clear things out so that when they finally do move there will be less to sort through.

    It sounds a little negative, but all in all it’s hard to feel negative on a beautiful day.

    I wish you well,
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

