Theoretical Cast Change of Doctor Who – The Daily Post Writing Prompt

Today’s daily prompt is putting us in the place of the casting director of our favorite television show or movie. But the catch is that we have to replace the entire cast with our family and friends.

Oh dear. My favorite show is Doctor Who and I can’t think of a single person who would be a good personality fit for the Doctor. Sure, his personality changes a little every time he regenerates but there’s still a quality to him that doesn’t. It’s that essence of fun, danger, excitement, and adventure all rolled up into a human shaped burrito. I’ve lead such a sheltered life that I can’t think of a single person who I could picture grabbing my hand and saying “Run!” The closest I can think of would be the oldest daughter of my friend, John (who I also think of as a friend). She’s an avid Doctor Who fan and with a little encouragement out of her shell I can picture her in his place. Besides, it’s about time the doctor regenerated into a woman.

I’d cast myself as the Doctor’s companion, but that would be a little bit unfair as the casting director. My oldest sister would be the Doctor’s companion because whenever there’s a natural disaster, car crash, house fire, or other sorts of emergencies nearby she always wants to go look at it. She says that she wants to help. but I think it’s primarily wanting to see the disaster itself. I can still remember after hurricane Hugo came through South Carolina, she was always wanting to go look at the damage, especially out by the beaches.

Captain Jack, if he were to ever come back to the show, could be any one of the guys at the McDonalds that I work at. One in particular, a guy we’ll call Harry, would be perfect. He’s a fun guy, definitely appreciates the ladies but is more than ready to step up when needed to help right a wrong. I can’t see him equally flirting with the opposite sex though. Or the aliens. I’m pretty sure he would try for the show though.

The Master, again if he were still in the show, would have to be my second sister. She always likes to think about perfect crimes and ways around the rules, even though she doesn’t believe in breaking those rules herself.

Who would you cast in your favorite shows? Leave your links to your responses to the writing prompt if you attempt it.

Cast Change.

4 comments on “Theoretical Cast Change of Doctor Who – The Daily Post Writing Prompt

    • I’m with you there. Although, I haven’t seen any of the new doctor yet. I’ve been confined to Netflix and they haven’t put the last season up yet.

  1. I’m with you. I love Dr. Who and I’m still confined to Netflix as well. Hopefully the last season will come out soon! I would also love to be the companion. Wouldn’t that be amazing?

Leave a Reply

