Labor Day… Or Whose Season Is It Anyway?

It’s that wonderful, brilliant time of year again. The South is notorious for it, but I’m sure we’re not the only ones. Labor day is over. It’s fall again.

In the coming weeks, there will be mornings that start out cool enough to need to wear jackets. It’ll be delightful until the temperatures skyrocket halfway to lunch time and we’re sweltering in those warm clothes. In childhood, it meant lost jackets and sweaters. If you’re anything like me, it’s much the same as an adult. I can’t tell you how many times that I’ll be getting ready to head out, feel the chill in the air, and step back in to grab my jacket. But do I see it? Of course not. It’ll be a few minutes, but I’ll realize that once again my jacket has been left behind in the car. And when you’re young it’s usually one of those not quite plastic coats that are ten times colder and seem to take forever to warm up to body temperature. And during the Southern Fall that’s usually about the time to take it off.

Of course we’re not there yet. It’s still hot as anything outside. Which begs the mention of the other great Southern Fall disagreement. White after Labor Day. Some say it’s an etiquette detail and nothing more. Others say that it’s just because of the weather and thusly to be ignored thanks to the strange Southern Fall. After doing my homework I found the truth behind it even more bizarrely annoying. According to an article on the White Rule in Mental Floss magazine (a greatly diverse magazine that always has something in it that you never knew that you didn’t know) the background of the White Rule was less about the weather and more about money. Apparently, it was part of a list of etiquette rules created sometime in the 1800s to primarily let old money know if they were dealing with new money or old money.

That being said, we’re getting to my favorite part of fall. My favorite yearly writing competitions and challenges all happen at this time of the year. And on top of that, my favorite writing clothes have always been sweat pants and sweat shirts. Good comfort clothing. Is it possible to wear during summer and the first part of fall? Of course not.

But that time is coming. My time is coming.

What is your beef with fall? Comment to commiserate or say a few words in support of fall.

10 comments on “Labor Day… Or Whose Season Is It Anyway?

    • I don’t know where you live, but in my part of the south our springs and autumns are usually crazy weather. Aside from the thunder storms, the weather can’t usually decide between being warm or cold. It’s not a build up in either direction like some places. It’s also the worst time of our year for colds.

      I used to gripe with my mother about the weather fluctuating. (I have bad arthritis so it really messes with my joints) I stopped when she told me that if it bothered me so much to move up north. I never needed to see more than one season of the weather channel’s coverage of blizzards and winter storms to cure me of that.

      I decided that I’ll take South Carolina’s funky weather any day. 🙂

    • I’m not really fond of winter either, other than the excuse to wear warm and cozy clothing. I think it’s a matter of comfort really. I don’t like the cold, but I love warm clothing, fires, and curling up under a blanket with books or my trusty laptop.

  1. I always wondered about the “white rule” and fall as well. Thanks for digging into the history!

    I’m with Michelle. Fall to me, means winter is coming. YUCK. (i live in the northeastern snow belt) But I do love the change of the seasons, comfort foods, etc.

  2. I literally moved away from Hawai’i so that I could experience the gorgeous colors of autumn. There is this one drive I always used to do to Port Angeles when I lived out there, where you drive around a particular corner and then see an entire mountain that almost looks like it’s on fire with all of the changing leaves. I honestly never get tired of it. Now, winter is another story. But hey. 😉

  3. I just remembered all the white clothes I still meant to wear, and was discussing the “White Rule” with my younger brother. He’d never heard of it, and I was at a loss for a thorough explanation. Thanks!

  4. Fall is beautiful, and I welcome the cooler temperature after sweating out the humidity of Mid-Western summers, but it just means winter will be here any minute. And I cannot stand winter! Icy roads and snow that turns into brown slush. Hate almost everything about it.
    I agree about the sweat pants and shirts, though! Total comfort – oh yeah!

Leave a Reply

