Do You Still Remember Me?

Courtesy of WordPress’s Daily Prompt (from yesterday) I bring you…

Do You Still Remember Me?

It has been long since I last saw you
It has been long since I last knew you
Will you still remember me?
Will you still welcome me?

I have wandered far and strayed from the path
At first I did not think upon your wrath
But now it has been so very long
I know my deeds have been so very wrong

In the beginning I wondered where you went
I missed your presence but did not know why
From your essence my soul had been rent
I had wandered too far for you to be nigh

That cavernous empty hole in my chest
How much longer until eternal rest?
The feeling of dread when looking home
How much longer must I roam?

It has been long since I last saw you
It has been long since I last knew you
Will you still remember me?
Will you still welcome me?

I want to come home

Daily Prompt: My Favorite.

Leave a Reply

