Giving Catholicism a Bad Name

I wasn’t sure what to write about today until I remembered something that got on my nerves a bit yesterday. We have one member of my church that does something that really irritates me at times. When we say the Hail Mary during church he actually turns to the statue of Mary that we have near the front of the church. I couldn’t believe it the first time I saw that.

There are people that believe us to worship Mary. Those that believe we worship our statues. I mean really, come on. The second couldn’t be further from the truth and the former is a bit too far. We revere Mary, not worship. Huge difference. And the statues are merely reminders. We don’t worship them.

But people that do stuff like that are sometimes seen by those outside the church. And I’m sure that he’s not alone in this. What in the world are people supposed to believe when they see behaviors like this? I wish I had the guts to say something to him. Besides, even if I did as a choir member I’m one of the last people to leave the church. I never seen him.

Statue of Mary

Yes, this really is a picture of the statue in my church. The wooden boxy bit behind it is part of the organ.

Leave a Reply

