Why….

Just why am I doing this? Well, I guess it starts with last year November when I made my attempt at the National Novel Writing Month. It has always been my dream to be a writer and I read somewhere that anything is possible, but the hardest part is beginning. Every dream that I had made no difference if I didn’t take that first step and actually begin. National Novel Writing Month gave me that first step.

I suppose if you’re not into writing you probably have never heard of it. Those that have heard of it are probably thinking back to their own first NaNoWriMo novel. While they’re taking trips down memory lane I’ll explain. National Novel Writing Month is basically a challenge. Not against other people, but against yourself. Well, you could challenge other people, but that’s not the point. The point is that you’re challenged to make that first step. You’re challenged to sit down and actually begin. The official challenge is to write 50,000 words in 30 days, basically the month of November. In 2008 I took that challenge and barely squeaked in by the skin of my teeth. I wanted to offer a quote from one of my favorite authors and who I look up to most of all:

So maybe you won’t be a successful novelist, or even a good one. At least you are trying. That, would you believe, puts you in a rarefied one percent of our kind. Maybe less than that. You aspire to something better than the normal rat race. You may not accomplish much, but it’s the attitude that counts. As with mutations: 99% of them are bad and don’t survive, but the 1% that are better are responsible for the evolution of species to a more fit state. You know the odds are against you, but who knows? If you don’t try, you’ll never be sure whether you might, just maybe, possibly, have done it. So you do have to make the effort, or be forever condemned in your own bleary eyes.

That was sent in by Piers Anthony as a pep talk during the fourth week of National Novel Writing Month. Now, six full months later I’ve gone from 50,000 to 72,170 words. It’s that realization that has me wondering just why I’m trying to add more onto my plate. Between twitter and face book I’m already wasting a lot of time. How much time can I afford to waste and still meet my goal? I’m already being plagued by a nasty case of writer’s block.

On the other hand, every writer that I’ve read about and talked to has suggested that I start a blog. But what does someone new to both writing regularly and blogging write about? I can see when I’m done with the novel I can write about who I send my novel to for possible publication. I can write about the fifty million rejection letters. But now? Ooooh. Right now I can mention that I wrote 500 words to my novel before starting this entry. That really sounds like bragging rights, doesn’t it? Right. Even I can’t believe that one.

I suppose in the future you can expect to see rants about writer’s block, stubborn plot lines, and research issues. Maybe even some writing exercises. Those are usually good for a laugh or two when using random sentence writing prompts. And fair warning, I may even through in disturbingly normal gripes about family, work, and life in general.

Who knows, maybe one day I’ll be a famous published author and you can say that you knew me back when. 🙂

Let’s see where this road takes us.

Leave a Reply

