Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth

I absolutely despise subjective questions. Especially feelings. So many people can have such different meanings for the same feeling. If I say I’m feeling depressed does the person I’m talking to think I’m on the verge of committing suicide or do they just think I’m slightly off my game today.

That’s also why I prefer to write as opposed to speaking. When I write I can be fairly sure that the people reading will understand my meaning. Plus I get the benefit of proofreaders and editors. Sure you can get speech writers and the like, but who’s to say that their word meaning is the same as your own.

Conversations are the worst. I stutter, hesitate, repeat myself, basically all the things that you’re not “supposed” to do. As Christians we’re supposed to be evangelists in our daily lives. I wouldn’t dare. I believe that I would chase more people away then attract. Let me write a letter and we might actually get somewhere.

I’m looking forward to the day that they come out with neural implants that convey a person’s real meaning instead of their literal meaning. Of course that would probably bring on a slew of other issues too.

I think I’ll just write.

Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth.

via Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth.

One comment on “Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth

  1. Pingback: Inspiration: Dig Deeper For Gratitude… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a Reply

